[BOOK] Gone Girl.

6a00d8341ca51553ef0176169d3fe5970c-800wiI finished it a couple of days ago after a week of reading it. I would say it was a CRAZY good read. Yup, it was. It was exciting and thrilling making it really hard to put down. If it wasn’t for work, I would’ve stayed up all night to finish it. Unfortunately (or fortunately), I have work so I couldn’t do that.

Anyway, for those who don’t know what this book is about, it’s about, well.. a GONE GIRL, a girl who is lost/kidnapped/murdered. Amy Dunne, wife of Nick Dunne, ends up missing on the day of their 5th year anniversary. As you might read from many summaries out there, Nick swears he did not kill his wife, yet, a number of implicating evidences against him suddenly turn up. This includes Amy’s personal diary containing entries of their crumbling marriage and her fear of her husband.

I like the alternating chapters as told by Nick Dunne and then by Amy Dunne as read from her diary. This reminds me of 1Q84. I’ve always liked such a way of storytelling as it shows you different perspectives of a single event. It makes one realize how or why a certain person reacts a certain way and what sort of thoughts run through their minds that make them do what they do. It’s like putting yourself in different characters’ shoes. I find that truly fascinating. Personally, it’s because I try to do that with people. I tend to observe intently to try to figure out why they act that way. I’m not a psychologist or anything. I just want to try to read their minds, what they’re thinking. If I were to be given a superpower, other than being Invisible, I would like to be able to read minds.

Gillian Flynn made reading Gone Girl so easy and interesting that I would definitely recommend it to other people. Especially to those who love twists.

NinthMelody rating: 4/5

2 thoughts on “[BOOK] Gone Girl.

Leave a Reply

