[BOOK] ME BEFORE YOU.

I finished reading this book last night and let me just take a moment to cry in the corner while I compose myself.

**CRIES**

Me-Before-YouI don’t think I have ever cried so much in reading a book. It’s either because “Me Before You” really pulls at your heartstrings or I’m just extremely emotional because it’s that time of the month or probably just both. If you have not read the book, I suggest you start reading it now. Be prepared for an emotional ride though.

I apologize beforehand if I spoil the story for you but I cannot talk about this book without revealing spoilers so *DO NOT READ THIS POST IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE BOOK.*

*FINAL WARNING*

Since I presume you have read the book, I shall not write a summary. Let’s just get on with my thoughts on the book.

To be honest, I already knew of the outcome of the book. A friend of mine read this book and she told me how upset she was of the ending, thus making her hate this book. From that reaction, I just knew what would happen. Despite knowing that, I decided to read it anyway after seeing the trailer for the movie.

I love how I was able to imagine the movie characters as the book characters as well. It just made the book more alive rather than just imagining a blurry, pixelated character in my head all based on descriptions that I read. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. Although I have to admit that sometimes, I would picture Jenna Coleman as Louisa or even Lily Collins (since I just watched Love, Rosie).

Anyway, this was a heartbreaking story. Will, being a quadriplegic, wanted to take his own life in his own terms rather than having to wait it out and suffering through it. In a sense, it’s understandable given the difficulty of his situation but I am a Christian who believes that no one can take anyone’s life, even his own, because it is not ours to take. Putting aside all that, although it may seem like a selfish decision, in part, Will decided to go through with it because of Louisa herself. He wanted her to live her life and not be tied down to his stagnant state. So it’s ironic that even though the purpose of Lou being hired was so she could make Will so happy that he would want to live for her, (it was implied when Camilla reprimanded Lou after she moved in with Patrick) she was also one of the reasons why Will was even more so determined to end his life – to make Louisa live hers.

I understand how Louisa also feels content and comfortable with her life in that small town. Going outside your comfort zone takes an incredible amount of effort and sometimes it simply takes a nudge from someone else before we can take the leap. I appreciate Will’s attempt in nudging Lou to take that leap.

I cried buckets of tears enough to fill a dried out river. I have never cried so much in reading a book. Good job, Jojo Moyes. I am not sure how the sequel will be able to surpass this one but I am looking forward to reading it.

NinthMelody rating: 8.75/10

6 thoughts on “[BOOK] ME BEFORE YOU.

Leave a Reply

