[BOOK] The Girl On The Train.

I’ve had this book for quite some time now and I’ve always wanted to read it ever since I got it. The premise looked interesting and I was simply curious so I decided to read it.

Here’s the description from the iTunes store:

girl-train-movie-detailsRachel takes the same commuter train every morning. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. “Jess and Jason,” she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.

And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel offers what she knows to the police, and becomes inextricably entwined in what happens next, as well as in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?

It is a psychological suspense thriller that would keep you guessing “Who did it?” until the end. Not only do the readers not know what happened to the missing person, the readers and also the main character (Rachel) do not know whether the she had anything to do with it. This is due to Rachel’s alcoholism which renders her completely unaware of what happens during her bouts of drunkenness.

I see a lot of comments around the web saying it is like “Gone Girl” and I disagree. Sure, some girl ends up “missing,” the characters are not to be trusted, but other than those, I don’t find any more similarities. They seem familiar but completely different. In my opinion, both stories are good because of the surprise elements. So if you want to be surprised, stop reading reviews about these 2 books and just go read. NOW!

I have not watched the movie adaptation of this book but I am excited how it would translate on screen. It stars Emily Blunt as the main character, Rachel. From the trailer, I thought Jess/Megan would be Jennifer Lawrence but apparently it’s Haley Bennet. They look very similar from the trailer. The trailer can be seen below but I suggest watching it only once you’ve read it. In my opinion, that’s the best way to read a book. It’s so much more satisfying.

NinthMelody rating: 8.5/10

Leave a comment